Finding Refuge

Today, here in my home town, we are enduring a typical early spring March blizzard. 

 

 

 

And for fortunate people like me who work inside it has provided an unusual opportunity to experience finding refuge. 

 

Those of us lucky enough to be able to hunker down and enjoy viewing the snow from our cozy nests have encountered what it feels like to watch the bluster of a storm pass by while being safely and blissfully hidden away. 

 

Taking pleasure in a hide-away it seems is almost a universal human delight.

 

The drive to sneak away and be hidden seems to be virtually instinctual.  Children and hiding places go unanimously together.  Whether children are found living in the country or the city, give a couple of kids an hour or two and they will be nested away in some kind of secret shelter.  Tents, tree houses, snow caves, attic perches, niches and crannies of all descriptions are relished by children as hide-outs. 

 

Yet at times all of us—no matter what our age—may find ourselves longing for a hide-out.  We desire to find a refuge, a hiding place; a place that is tucked away and secure from the problems that are at hand. We dream of coming upon a locale where we can while away the hours unmolested and at peace. 

 

You see, just because we’re Christians the storms of life don’t just disappear.  In fact, because we are Christians sometimes our spirits cry out all the louder for a peaceful place.  It is nothing to be ashamed of—this desire for refuge—some of the greatest men in the Bible expressed their need to find a safe haven in which to hide. 

 

In one of his deepest moments of pain and sorrow over the sin of his people, Jeremiah called out…Oh, that I had in the desert a lodging place for travelers, so that I might leave my people and go away from them (Jer. 9:2).  And David expressed similar sentiments in Ps. 55:6-8 Oh, that I had the wings of a dove! I would fly away and be at rest—I would flee far away and stay in the desert; I would hurry to my place of shelter, far from the tempest and storm.

 

Fortunately for all of us, Scripture tells us that there is a refuge.  There is a safe place in the storm that is much stronger and secure than we could ever imagine. Hannah sang about it There is no one besides you; there is no rock like our God (1Sam. 2) and David wrote about it, The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God my rock in whom I take refuge.  In fact, David’s favorite metaphor for God as refuge was: God as refuge and Rock. 

 

In verse after verse the man after God own heart had more to say about God as our Rock than any other biblical character.  David’s own Psalm 62 features this metaphor.  This famous Psalm internally gives no specific historical setting.  However, most commentators seem to be in agreement choosing to place its context as written during David’s time in the wilderness. 

 

Authors ascribe these words to David during that time when he was fleeing Saul with his band of men.  It was a time in David’s life where it was typical for him and his men to retreat to the crags and caves of the mountains of Palestine for refuge.

 

During this time of running for his life the “Cave of Adullam” was David’s home.  The cave was a wicked refugee camp, a dark vault on the side of a cliff that reached deeply into a rock hill.  Huddled in this cave with him were 400 losers—a mob of miserable humanity.  1Sam. 22:2 it tells us, all those who were in distress or in debt or discontented gathered around him, and he became their leader. About four hundred men were with him. 

 

In this unlikely place, it became David’s responsibility to turn a hap-hazard mob into an organized, well-disciplined fighting force, his mighty men of valor.  And at the end of days spent eluding Saul he would run back to the rocky hills with their caves and nooks and crannies and find a safe haven.

 

 It was during this chaotic time in his life that David inspired by the Holy Spirit wrote:

 

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken. …

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.

Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge

 Psalm 62

 

To find refuge is to find that safe place of being covered or protected. To find refuge is to find a place that is immune to exposure and vulnerability, where one is sheltered and hidden away from the storms of life. 

 

David found this place in God.  This year as we sit behind our window panes watching the storm swirl around us let’s take the time and reflect on the refuge God provides for us.  Let’s realize the shelter and place of safety he supplies and join with David in his song of praise.  

 

Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer.

From the ends of the earth I call to you,

I call as my heart grows faint;

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

For you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe.

I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings.  Psalm 61: 1-5

2 Comments

Filed under Character of God

2 responses to “Finding Refuge

  1. These last few days I’ve been weathering a storm of my own. I started by having a “paranoid girl freak-out,” which didn’t help any. But God is so good to let us freak out a little, then come in and say, “I have this. Don’t you know I have this? Rest in my promises. Rest in my strength.”

    As I read through the chapters for my small group this week about 1.) Peace, and 2.) Persecution, (out of Angela Thomas’s A Beautiful Offering), I was reminded of how finding refuge in God’s strength, taking shelter in His truth, is the only way to weather these storms. We can try to manufacture peace, we can try to run and hide from persecution, but we will fail. If we try to do anything in our own strength, we will fail ourselves every time. It is only when we stand it God’s strength, when we take refuge in the hope that only HE can give, that we will truly find rest. We can choose our miserable, manufactured refuge, or we can flock to His true refuge.

    There’s a beautiful song, Still by Reuben Morgan, that we sing in our worship services:

    “Hide me now under Your wings
    Cover me within Your mighty hand

    Find rest my soul in Christ alone
    Know His power in quietness and trust

    When the oceans rise and thunders roar
    I will soar with You above the storm
    Father, You are King over the flood
    I will be still and know You are God.”

    Christ is our refuge, if we choose Him to be. (Thanks, Maryellen. Love you.)

  2. Maryellen Stipe

    Angela, I so agree with this statement you made, “It is only when we stand it God’s strength, when we take refuge in the hope that only HE can give, that we will truly find rest. We can choose our miserable, manufactured refuge, or we can flock to His true refuge.”

    Many, many people think they can manufacture their own refuge through a multitude of addictions and avoidance behaviors (alcohol, sex, shopping, T.V., etc…etc…).

    Meanwhile they neglect their relationship with Jesus, who promised, as He left this earth, “Lo, I will be with you always even until the end of the age.” If we draw near to Him, He will be faithful to draw near to us and He will give us the peace and refuge we desire.

Leave a Reply

