One Way to Leave the Troubles of 2014 Behind Us!

images-1

As I contemplate leaving 2014, a year which has not been without trials and tribulations for me and many others,

God is challenging me to remember the words of the psalmist in Psalm 34:6,

This poor man cried out, and the LORD heard him, And saved him out of all his troubles.

Do we have not because we ask not?  I would encourage those who have experienced a difficult 2014 to cry out to God as we enter 2015 and ask for His rescue from our current dilemmas.

Are you poor financially–cry out to God!

Are you poor in spirit–cry out to God!

Are you poor in health–cry out to God!

Are you poor relationally–cry out to God!

Whatever your area of poverty or lacking is–as you sit contemplating the end of another year–admit that deficit, grieve that trouble and cry out to God for resolution of your distress.  He promises to hear you and He is the only One who holds the power to save you from all your difficulties.

I don’t know about you but I want a 2015 that is a much easier year than the past one.  I realize that the trials of life enrich our faith and bring character but I also know that the process is not meant be arduous, crushing or devoid of hope.

We are meant to feel His abiding love carrying us and saving us from our difficulties.

It is my prayer in these waning hours of 2014–that no matter what your area of distress might be–you would be able to call out to God and lay your troubles at His feet.  And I am confident that as we humble ourselves before Our Father–that just like the psalmist–we will know He hears us, we will feel His presence and we will be assured that Our ultimate rescue is on the way.

Reach out to Him and may your 2015 be a year of greater blessing than ever before!

Happy New Year!

Maryellen Stipe

Do you relate to this simple reminder to humble ourselves and cry out to God? So many times we forget the obvious, we know God sees but we neglect to communicate with Him and share our frustration or pain.  What is your “poor man’s” prayer for rescue as you enter 2015? Don’t be shy, please comment. We would love to pray with you!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “One Way to Leave the Troubles of 2014 Behind Us!

  1. Thank you Maryellen and I hope you have a better year too. My 2014 was filled with health problems. I did cry out to God and he was faithful and heard me. Thank you for your prayers as well. This next year I want to draw even closer to HIM. May HIS presence fill our church more than ever before in 2015. Godspeed!

  2. Beautifully written and such a good reminder as I’m contemplating the new year, goals, and most importantly my relationship with God. Thanks, Maryellen.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Maryellen Stipe

    Thanks Mitzi and Beth, I am glad you liked my article and I will be praying for you both for God’s grace and blessings in 2015!

Leave a Reply

